The International Association for Language Learning Technologies (IALLT) is pleased to announce the return of the IALLT Webinar Series with the first of the Spring 2015 Series.  

Presenter: Harold Hendricks, Supervisor of the Humanities Learning Resource Center at Brigham Young University
Title: A New Approach to Vowel Visualization
Date:Friday, January 30, 2015
Start Time: 11:00am PT / 12:00pm MT / 1:00pm CT / 2:00pm ET
Webinar Duration - 1 hour

IALLT members can register for this webinar at: http://www.iallt.org/conferences/webinars

Session details: Computer pronunciation feedback has traditionally relied on waveform modeling, where the student is shown both a waveform produced by a native speaker and the waveform recorded by the student. This session will demonstrate an automated vowel evaluation program that first positions in real-time the student's live vowel production on a simplified vowel chart. After the student has practiced the pure vowel, the student then records vowel production within words, again positioned on the vowel chart along with visual feedback for dipthongization, tongue position, lip position, and vowel duration. Prescriptive textual feedback is given for improvement. The test case for this program has been first-year German, but the program is not language specific.